83 300SD (silver) troubleshooting

Mixed success with the car today.

I rebuilt the instrument cluster successfully, using plastic gears from Garagistic. Now both the main odometer and trip odometer are working again. Wasn’t a terribly difficult job.

I bought a replacement cruise control amplifier box on eBay, which the seller said had been tested good, but it didn’t make the cruise control work again. More troubleshooting needed.

And the driver’s seat is all screwed up; it’s leaned so far back that I can’t drive the car safely. I think I found a way to manually adjust it but it involves removing both cushions, and I haven’t tried it yet.

I also need to figure out why the car won’t kick down into first gear. I *think* it was working, and then stopped working. But if I’m on a slope, the car won’t even move because it starts off in 2nd gear. It does kick down in other gears (4->3 and 3->2), so I know the switch is working. I may need to adjust the ALDA and/or the Bowden cable.